2018 Awards

10-Year Impact Award (Press Release)

“NewsStand: A New View on News”

Benjamin Teitler (University of Maryland, USA)
Michael Lieberman (University of Maryland, USA)
Daniele Panozzo (University of Maryland, USA)
Jagan Sankaranarayanan (University of Maryland, USA)
Hanan Samet (University of Maryland, USA)
Jon Sperling (Department of Housing and Urban Development, USA)

Best Paper

“Flood Risk Analysis on Terrains under the Multi-Flow-Direction Model”

Aaron Lowe (Duke University, USA)
Pankaj Agarwal (Duke University, USA)

Best Paper (2017)

“Dictionary Compression in Point Cloud Data Management”

Mirjana Pavlovic (EPFL, Switzerland)
Kai-Niklas Bastian (SAP SE, Germany)
Hinnerk Gildhoff (SAP SE, Germany)
Anastasia Ailamaki (EPFL& RAW Labs SA, Switzerland)

Best Fast Forward Presentation

“Realtime Linear Cartograms and Metro Maps”

Thomas C. Van Dijk (University of Würzburg)
Dieter Lutz (University of Würzburg)

Best Poster

“An Ontology-based Algorithm for Managing the Evolution of Multi-Level Territorial Partitions”

Camille Bernard (Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble)
Christine Plumejeaud-Perreau (LIttoral ENvironnement et Sociétés (LIENSs), U.M.R. CNRS 7266)
Marlene Villanova-Oliver (Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble)
Jerome Gensel (Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble)
Hy Dao (Department of Geography, University of Geneva)

Best Demo

“Dynamic Spatio-temporal Integration of Traffic Accident Data”

Ove Andersen (Aalborg University)
Kristian Torp (Aalborg University)

Student Research Competition (Undergraduate)

“An Intelligent and Interactive Route Planning Maker for Deploying New Transportation Services”

Fandel Lin (National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan)

Student Research Competition (Graduate)

“Summit: A Scalable System for Massive Trajectory Data Management”

Louai Alarabi (University of Minnesota)

SIGSPATIAL CUP Programming Competition

“Fast Analysis of Upstream Features on Spatial Networks”

Salles Viana Gomes Magalhães (Universidade Federal de Viçosa)
W. Randolph Franklin (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
Ricardo dos Santos Ferreira (Universidade Federal de Viçosa)

Best Vision Paper

“Understanding the Human Brain Via its Spatio-temporal Properties“

Ouri Wolfson (University of Illinois at Chicago)

Press Release for 10-Year Impact Award

The winner of the ACM SIGSPATIAL conference’s 10-year impact award for 2018 is a paper from the University of Maryland titled “NewsStand: A New View on News”. This paper was published at the conference 10 years ago, and it was selected by a distinguished committee of researchers in the field of geographic information systems. The committee determined that the paper has become influential in the research community, with frequent citations by other researchers and prominent exposure in the academic community.

The paper describes NewsStand, a system that collects, analyzes, and displays news stories with a map interface. Users can pan and zoom the map to explore news stories based on both topical significance and geographic region. The system monitors news feeds from about 10,000 online news sources, which means users can find a wide variety of relevant stories depending on location and zoom level, all within minutes of publication.

About the conference: The International Conference on Advances in Geographic Information Systems began in 1993 with the aim of bringing together researchers, developers, users, and practitioners in relation to novel systems based on geospatial data and knowledge, and fostering interdisciplinary discussions and research in all aspects of geographic information systems. The conference is the premier annual event of the ACM Special Interest Group on Spatial Information (ACM SIGSPATIAL).

Bibliographic Reference
Teitler, Benjamin E., Michael D. Lieberman, Daniele Panozzo, Jagan Sankaranarayanan, Hanan Samet, and Jon Sperling. "NewsStand: A New View on News." In Proceedings of the 16th ACM SIGSPATIAL International Conference on Advances in Geographic Information Systems, ACM, 2008.